Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member RakeInTheCache
N 47° 19.350 E 005° 02.463
31T E 654233 N 5243023
Quick Description: [FR] L’église Notre-Dame de Dijon est considérée comme un chef-d'œuvre d'architecture gothique du XIIIe siècle. [EN]The Notre-Dame church of Dijon is considered as a masterpiece of gothic architecture of the 18th century.
Location: France
Date Posted: 3/29/2009 1:26:57 AM
Waymark Code: WM63W1
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member Windsocker
Views: 24

Long Description:
[FR] Elle s'élève derrière le Palais des ducs et des États de Bourgogne et face à la rue Musette. On estime que l'édifice actuel a été construit des années 1220 aux années 1240 environ.

Cette église de dimensions modestes abrite Notre-Dame de Bon-Espoir, ancienne Vierge noire, et s'orne de deux symboles de la ville de Dijon : le Jacquemart ramené de Courtrai, et la chouette.

À l'emplacement de Notre-Dame se trouvait à l'origine, avant la seconde moitié du XIIe siècle, une simple chapelle, située hors de l'enceinte de la cité et dénommée chapelle Sainte-Marie.

Vers 1150, la chapelle fut reconstruite dans le style roman. À sa place, les Dijonnais élevèrent à partir des années 1220 l'église gothique actuelle. Notre-Dame étant située au milieu d'un quartier populaire, la place faisait défaut et l'architecte, resté inconnu, usa de nombreuses techniques inédites pour ériger l'église. Par exemple, tout le poids de la charpente et de la toiture repose sur les piliers et non sur des arcs-boutants, permettant ainsi d'utiliser un maximum de surface au sol pour l'intérieur de l'église.

L'église a été restaurée de 1865 à 1884 par l'architecte parisien Jean Charles Laisné, et non par Viollet-le-Duc comme il est parfois écrit par erreur. Les travaux consistèrent à rendre à Notre-Dame son aspect supposé d'origine. Pour cela, les constructions adventices furent supprimées, la tour de la croisée rétablie en tour lanterne. Toutes les sculptures abîmées furent refaites.

Selon de Jolimont, « la partie la plus remarquable est le portail principal, unique dans son genre ».

La façade occidentale, d'une planéité singulière, est en effet unique dans l'architecture gothique française. Elle constitue une sorte d'écran qui masque les dispositions intérieures de l'église. Mesurant environ 28,6 m de haut sur 19,5 m de large et 6,2 m de profondeur, elle compte trois étages, dont le premier est occupé par trois grandes arcades, formant l'entrée d'un porche, dont les voûtes sont soutenues par deux rangs de piliers. Ce porche précède les trois portes de l'église, dont les voussures, le tympan et les ébrasements étaient ornés de statues et de sculptures jusqu'à leur destruction en janvier 1794.

Au-dessus de ces arcades, la façade s'orne de deux galeries d'arcatures superposées, reposant chacune sur dix-sept colonnettes d'un seul morceau, couronnées d'un chapiteau, et soulignées par trois bandeaux ornés de fausses gargouilles alternant avec des métopes.

Des contreforts, dont la partie supérieure prend la forme d'une petite tourelle ronde, flanquent les deux angles de la façade.

Au-dessus de la façade devaient s'élever initialement deux tours carrées, dont n'existent que les amorces. Sur la souche de la tour sud se trouve un campanile supportant le Jacquemart.

[EN] It rised up behind the Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy and faces rue Musette. It is believe that the current ediface was constructed in the years between 1220 to about 1240.

This church of modest dimentions is home to the Black virgin, Notre-Dame de Bon-Espoir and is decorated with two symbols of the city of Dijon, the Jacquemart clock taken from Courtrai, and the owl.

Before the second half of the 12th century, a simple chapel was located on the site of Notre-Dame, situated outside of the city wall and known as Sainte-Marie chapel.

Towards 1150, the chapel was reconstructed in a romanesque style. The people of Dijon raised in its place beginning in the 1220s the present gothic church. Notre-Dame being situated in the middle of a crowded quarter, the space available was limited and the architect, who remains unknown, used numerous original techniques to build the church. For example, the weight of the frame and the roofing rests on pillers and not on flying buttresses, therefore allowing a maximum of surface area to be used for the interior of the church.

The church was restored from 1865 to 1884 by the Parisian architect Jean Charles Laisné, and not by Viollet-le-Duc as is sometimes written in error. The work consisted in giving back to Notre-Dame its supposed original aspect. Therefore, extraneous features were removed and the crossing tower was reestablished as a lantern tower. All of the damaged sculptures were redone.

According to Jolimont, « the most remarkable part is the one of a kind principal portal. ».

The western facade, which is completely flat, is, actually, unique in French gothic architecture. It makes a sort of screen which masks the interior layout of the church. Mesuring around 28.6 m high and 19.5 m wide and 6.2 m deep, it includes 3 stories, the first of which is occupied by 3 large arcades, forming the entree to the porch, of which the vaults are supported by two rows of pillars. The porch sits in front of the three doors of the church, of which the arches, tympanum, and splays were decorated with statues and sculptures until their destruction in January, 1794.

Above the arcades, the facade is decorated by two galleries of superimposed blind arcades, each one resting on seventeen small columns of a single piece, crowed with a capital, and underligned with three decorated bands of false gargoyles alternating with metopes.

The buttresses, of which the upper part take the form of a small round turret, flank the two corners of the facade.

Above the facade, two square towers should have initially stood, of which exists only the bases. On the base of the south tower stands a bell tower which supports the Jacqumart clock.

(Text taken from Wikipedia)


Dénomination de l'édifice (from Merimee DB): église

Localisation (from Merimee DB): Dijon

Siècle de la campagne principale de construction (from Merimee DB): 13e siècle ; 14e siècle ; 2e quart 19e siècle ; 4e quart 19e siècle

Précision sur la protection de l'édifice (from Merimee DB):


Date de versement de la notice (Merimee DB): 01/01/1840

Relevant Website: [Web Link]

Photo with MH logo pictured included?: no

Adresse de l'édifice (from Merimee DB): Not listed

Référence de la notice (from Merimee DB): Not listed

Visit Instructions:
[EN] Include at minimum a complete sentence which reflects your experience visiting the site and upload a photo taken by you at the site.

[FR] Ecrivez au moins une phrase complète qui décrira votre expérience lors de la visite et téléchargez une photo du site prise par vous.

Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Monuments Historiques Français
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
Date Logged Log User Rating  
LeBourguignon visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 12/13/2019 LeBourguignon visited it
blackjack65 visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 7/11/2018 blackjack65 visited it
CrAzYoTa visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 7/27/2016 CrAzYoTa visited it
sobersong visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 8/20/2015 sobersong visited it
MAJU38 visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 3/9/2014 MAJU38 visited it
Biquidou visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 5/11/2011 Biquidou visited it
The A-Team visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 9/13/2010 The A-Team visited it
Maciiik visited   Eglise Notre-Dame - Dijon 3/4/2010 Maciiik visited it

View all visits/logs