Clifton Mill (Site) - Clifton, TX
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member QuarrellaDeVil
N 31° 47.675 W 097° 34.557
14R E 634814 N 3518549
Quick Description: Lost to us now for well over a hundred years, the ruins of the Clifton Mill are on the Bosque River, off of Riverside Dr northeast of Clifton, with a nice park to explore nearby.
Location: Texas, United States
Date Posted: 2/6/2020 10:45:14 AM
Waymark Code: WM1222X
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member jotheonly
Views: 4

Long Description:
An undated photo of the intact mill is held by the University of Texas, donated by the Bosque County Historical Commission in 1995. The mill's ruins are within sight of the newer dam -- probably constructed by the CCC -- and a battered 2003 Texas Historical Marker tells the story:

In 1857, R.G. Grant of Coryell County built a wooden mill at this site, using the waters of the Bosque River to power his operation. Two years later, the property transferred to J.H. Stinnett, and the mill building was used as a commissary and storehouse for the Confederate Army during the Civil War, 1861-1865. Stinnett sold the mill to William L. Kemp in 1867, and Kemp tore down the mill and built a new one of stone.

Kemp's mill supplied flour and cornmeal to Texas frontier settlements. Ox carts hauling the flour and meal traveled in groups to places like Brownwood, Camp San Saba or Forts Concho, McKavett, Mason, Griffin and Chadbourne. In the late 1870s and early 1880s, former U.S. Senator and Governor of Texas Richard Coke had an interest in the mill. He and his partners sold their interest in 1883.

From 1890 to 1901, the mill operated under the name of Clifton Steam and Water. Renovations during this time added to its picturesque quality, including a third story above the unusual S-curve Mansard roof, as well as a cupola housing the grain elevator.

The water-powered mill had an auxiliary steam plant for power during low stages of the river and dry seasons. In 1909, the Clifton Electric Light Company purchased the mill and converted it to an electric power plant, but they sold it in 1911. The mill sat vacant until it was purchased and demolished in 1915. The City of Clifton bought the site in the 1960s.

Despite its demolition in the early 20th century, the mill building survives in memory and photographs. Here, early settlers used the power of the river to feed and fuel Texas' burgeoning frontier.

Current Status: Ruin

Current Use: Scenery

Visit Instructions:
Provide a picture of your visit.
Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Water Mills
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
Date Logged Log User Rating  
WalksfarTX visited Clifton Mill (Site) - Clifton, TX 3/14/2020 WalksfarTX visited it