By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies as provided in our policy.

Early Barbour County Commissioners - Clayton, AL
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member hummerstation
N 31° 52.699 W 085° 26.992
16R E 646619 N 3527995
Quick Description: Eleven commissioners selected Clayton, a centrally located site, for a permanent seat-of-justice for Barbour County.
Location: Alabama, United States
Date Posted: 11/1/2012 6:19:31 PM
Waymark Code: WMFM22
Published By: Groundspeak Regular Member Thorny1
Views: 2

Long Description:
The Early Barbour County Commissioners historical marker is a standard Historic Chattahoochee Commission metal marker. It is located on the lawn of the County Courthouse. The marker was placed by the Historic Chattahoochee Commission.
Marker Name: Early Barbour County Commissioners

Marker Type: Urban

Addtional Information::
Marker Text: Eleven commissioners were appointed to select a centrally located site for a permanent seat-of-justice to be named Clayton, in honor of Augustin S. Clayton, a distinguished jurist of Georgia who represented his state in Congress from 1831 -1835. The commissioners appointed by the Alabama Legislature were Jacob Utert, Daniel McKenzie, William Cadenhead, James A. Head, William Norton, William Bush, Green Beauchamp, Samuel G. B. Adams, Noah B. Cole, Robert Richards, and T. W. Pugh.

Date Dedicated / Placed: 1978

Marker Number: None

Visit Instructions:
Please post a photo of you OR your GPS at the marker location. Also if you know of any additional links not already mentioned about this bit of Alabama history please include that in your log.
Search for... Google Map
Google Maps
Bing Maps Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Alabama Historical Markers
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Nearest Hotels
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
There are no logs for this waymark yet.