Château de Montbard - Montbard, France
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member pmaupin
N 47° 37.616 E 004° 20.100
31T E 600300 N 5275700
Quick Description: [EN] What remains of the castle of the fourteenth century was transformed in the eighteenth century by Buffon into a park of 3 hectares, the "Park Buffon". [FR] Ce qui subsiste du château fort du XIVe siècle a été transformé au XVIIIe siècle par Buffon en un parc de 3 hectares, le « parc Buffon ».
Location: Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France
Date Posted: 6/10/2018 1:28:03 PM
Waymark Code: WMYFJY
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member kaschper69
Views: 0

Long Description:

"From the castle of the Dukes of Burgundy only two towers remain in elevation-Aubespin and Saint-Louis-, as well as a vast enclosure supporting the park created by the naturalist Georges-Louis Leclerc, Count of Buffon, in the 18th century.

Between 1733 and 1742, the naturalist Georges-Louis Leclerc of Buffon annexed the castle by engagement. The castle is abandoned and partly in ruins. Buffon makes many changes. He fills the inside of the wall with a mixture of earth and stones from the castle to create a unique level. He demolishes the ramparts and modifies the Saint-Louis tower. It will not affect the Sainte-Urse church or the Aubespin tower.

These two towers of the fourteenth century are, with the church of St. Urs, the ramparts and underground rooms, the most visible remains of the old medieval fortress.

At a height of 46 meters, the Tower of Aubespin is composed of four vaulted rooms and an upper terrace which offers a remarkable panorama of Montbard and the Brenne valley crossed by the Burgundy canal.

The Tour Saint-Louis, rebuilt by Buffon in the eighteenth century, housed at the same time the summer office, laboratory and library of the famous naturalist. "

Sources : The Castel

Photo goes Here Photo goes Here

"Du château des ducs de Bourgogne ne subsistent plus que deux tours en élévation -de l'Aubespin et Saint-Louis-, ainsi qu'une vaste enceinte servant de soutènement au parc créé par le naturaliste Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon, au XVIIIe siècle.

Entre 1733 et 1742, le naturaliste Georges-Louis Leclerc de Buffon annexe le château par engagement. Le château est à l'abandon et en partie en ruine. Buffon engage de nombreuses modifications. Il remplit l'intérieur du rempart avec un mélange de terre et des pierres du château pour créer un unique niveau. Il rabaisse les remparts et modifie la tour Saint-Louis. Il ne touchera pas à l'église Sainte-Urse ni à la tour de l'Aubespin.

Ces deux tours du XIVe siècle sont, avec l’église Saint-Urse, les remparts et les salles souterraines, les vestiges les plus visibles de l’ancienne forteresse médiévale.

D’une hauteur de 46 mètres, la Tour de l’Aubespin est composée de quatre salles voûtées et d’une terrasse supérieure qui offre un panorama remarquable sur Montbard et la vallée de la Brenne traversée par le canal de Bourgogne.

La Tour Saint-Louis, remaniée par Buffon au XVIIIe siècle, abritait quant à elle tout à la fois le cabinet de travail d’été, le laboratoire et la bibliothèque du célèbre naturaliste. "

Sources : Le Château

Wikipedia Url: [Web Link]

Visit Instructions:
To post a visit log to this waymark you need to visit and write about the actual physical location. Any pictures you take at the location would be great, as well.
Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Wikipedia Entries
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
Date Logged Log User Rating  
pmaupin visited Château de Montbard - Montbard, France 6/8/2018 pmaupin visited it