By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies as provided in our policy.

O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member Master Mariner
N 53° 20.836 W 006° 15.546
29U E 682443 N 5914404
Quick Description: The O'Connell bridge, built in 1880, crosses the River Liffey from the southern end of O'Connell Street. It is unique in Europe in that it is the only bridge that is wider than it is long.
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Date Posted: 12/9/2012 9:37:27 AM
Waymark Code: WMFWQ9
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member Jake39
Views: 14

Long Description:

The plaque, on the west side of bridge, reads:

Carlisle Bridge
Built 1794
Rebuilt by the Dublin Port and Docks Board 1880
Renamed
O'Connell Bridge
by the Municipal Council 1880
Right Honble Edmund Dwyer Cray M.P. Lord Mayor
James W. Mackey, Knt D.L. High Sheriff
Rindon B. Stoney, Engineer
W. J. Doherty, Contractor

The Tourist Information Dublin website [visit link] tells us:

"O'Connell Bridge (Droichead Uí Chonaill in Irish) in Dublin is a road bridge which spans the River Liffey in Dublin, and joins O'Connell Street to D'Olier Street, Westmoreland Street and the south quays.

It was designed by James Gandon and was built in 1794 as the Carlisle Bridge and replaced in 1880 by the present, much wider, O'Connell Bridge named for the Irish hero Daniel O'Connell.

The bridge is about 45 metres long and 50 metres wide. It has 3 spans and is built of Portland Stone. it is said to be unique in Europe as the only bridge in that is wider than it is long.

In 2004, a pair of pranksters installed a plaque on the bridge dedicated to the fictitious Father Pat Noise, which apparently remained unnoticed until May 2006,and is still there as of January 2011."

The Archiseek website [visit link] adds:

"Originally designed and built by James Gandon, O’Connell Bridge was built in 1794-98 and named aftyer the then Viceroy – Lord Carlisle. The original bridge had a hump and was much narrower and Gandon had designed obelisks and plinths for the four corners. In 1880 it was widened and the hump removed – it is now almost square – being as wide as it is long. In 1882 it was renamed after Daniel O’Connell when the statue in his honour was unveiled. Recently the lamps that graced the central island have been restored to their five lantern glory."

Changing pictures of the bridge can be seen here. O'Connell bridge is on the left side, second image down.

Date built or dedicated as indicated on the date stone or plaque.: 1881

Date stone, plaque location.: On the west side, at about half distance across, adjacent to the footpath.

Road, body of water, land feature, etc. that the bridge spans.: River Liffey

Website (if available): Not listed

Parking (safe parking location): Not Listed

Visit Instructions:
Please provide an original picture of the location and some original words regarding your visit.
Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Trails.com Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Bridge Date Stones and Plaques
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Nearest Hotels
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
Date Logged Log  
Kladings visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 7/2/2019 Kladings visited it
hennes1389 visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 3/10/2019 hennes1389 visited it
Kuopsama visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 6/26/2016 Kuopsama visited it
buffalohiker visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 6/13/2016 buffalohiker visited it
Bush-Rescue visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 9/10/2015 Bush-Rescue visited it
MoVeD visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 6/28/2015 MoVeD visited it
Tomsle visited O'Connell Bridge - 1880 - Dublin, Ireland 12/31/2013 Tomsle visited it

View all visits/logs