Église Saint-Martin de Lamballe, France
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member sara et gege
N 48° 28.389 W 002° 31.109
30U E 535588 N 5369003
Quick Description: a very beautiful church a little behind the city center. une tres belle eglise un peu en retrait du centre ville.
Location: Bretagne, France
Date Posted: 9/11/2020 12:38:30 PM
Waymark Code: WM1345T
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member Alfouine
Views: 1

Long Description:
En source West France:
A stroll through Guy de Sallier-Dupin's past. Fourth stage of our summer journey. The historian plays the guide very close to his home, at the Saint-Martin church. External detour and internal visit.
When you climb the steps leading to the green space of the Saint-Martin church, you may not know that you are walking through the old cemetery. Several centuries have left their mark on the entire southern facade. Nevertheless, three elements catch the eye, the tower, the porch and the front door. The first two bear the mark of the 16th century.

A magnificent apparatus of granite freestone forms the framework of the tower. Two small "very Renaissance" windows add to its elegance. A stone engraved with a name (Thomas Cornillet, treasurer) and a date (1555) can be seen on one of the buttresses. The master sculptor, who designed and built the porch, left his identity on a beam held by two choppers: “One thousand five hundred and nineteen Jan Lesné made me brand new”.

Two characters, one with an uninviting demeanor, and the other with a rather obscene look, appear at the end of the frame. What could two planed silhouettes represent? The niche housed an ancient Madonna and Child. The statue, which replaces it, is very contemporary.

The virtue of healing children

The interior of the church can surprise by the uniformity of the white color, because the whitewashing of lime masks the diversity of materials. The Romanesque part (five arcades and blind windows) are made of pudding (dark stone made up of agglomerates). This is a unique case in Brittany (in Morieux, it is found outdoors and in a checkerboard pattern). The noble granite of the country is the constituent element of the other arcades, of Gothic style and of the window frames. The whole rubble in gneiss (stone extracted from the quarries of the suburbs of the city) ensures the filling. The windows at the top of the nave were once open to the outside, three roofs then covering the church: one for the nave and two for the aisles. It was in 1636 that a unique frame was built.

As witnesses (from different centuries), decorative elements have been preserved in a few places. In the lower surface of an arcade, a Christ in glory, framed by plant motifs has been renovated. The choir was altered in the 15th century. It is decorated with an altarpiece made in 1667 by a master sculptor, long from Lamballais. It should rise to the arch. Obviously, the upper part is missing.

At the beginning of the 16th century, a large chapel was opened to the south, lit by large windows. The presence of a Saint Genefort is intriguing. Very venerated in the parish, undoubtedly "imported" by the monks, it had a particular altar at the foot of a pillar and the virtue of healing young children having difficulty walking. The mothers rolled their children on the altar.

The altar was created in 1825 and is surmounted by a canvas of the Epiphany, painted by a Vannes master in the mid-18th century. We also discover the base of the old bell tower on which is painted a very old fresco. We can say that it is about Saint Radegonde, wife of Clotaire I, founder and abbess of the abbey of Sainte-Croix in Poitiers. A small fresco can be seen on the large pillar on the right above a 17th century Virgin and Child. It represents a bust of a monk holding a chalice and perhaps a host. The pendant existed on the other pillar. Other frescoes adorned the splayed windows. When stripping, traces appeared on one of them.

Let's not leave the church without taking a look at a marble bas-relief representing Saint Martin doing his generous gesture.

Fr source Ouest France :
La balade dans le passé de Guy de Sallier-Dupin. Quatrième étape de notre périple estival. L'historien joue le guide tout près de chez lui, à l'église Saint-Martin. Détour extérieur et visite intérieure.
Lorsqu'on gravit les marches qui accèdent à l'espace de verdure de l'église Saint-Martin, peut-être ne sait-on pas que l'on foule l'ancien cimetière. Sur toute la façade méridionale, plusieurs siècles ont laissé leur empreinte. Néanmoins, trois éléments attirent l'attention, la tour, le porche et la porte d'entrée. Les deux premières portent la marque du XVIe.

Un magnifique appareil de pierres de taille en granit constitue l'ossature de la tour. Deux petites fenêtres « très Renaissance » s'ajoutent à son élégance. Une pierre gravée d'un nom (Thomas Cornillet, trésorier) et d'une date (1555) s'observe sur un des contreforts. Le maître-sculpteur, qui a conçu et construit le porche, a laissé son identité sur une poutre tenue par deux engoulants : « Mil cinq cent dix-neuf Jan Lesné me fit tout neuf ».

Deux personnages, dont l'un à la mine peu engageante, et l'autre à l'allure plutôt obscène apparaissent à l'extrémité de la charpente. Que pouvaient bien représenter deux silhouettes rabotées ? La niche abritait une Vierge à l'enfant ancienne. La statue, qui la remplace, est très contemporaine.

La vertu de guérir les enfants

L'intérieur de l'église peut surprendre par l'uniformité de la couleur blanche, car le badigeonnage de chaux masque la diversité des matériaux. La partie romane (cinq arcades et les fenêtres aveugles) sont en poudingue (pierre foncée constituée d'agglomérats). C'est un cas unique en Bretagne (à Morieux, on le trouve en extérieur et en damier). Le noble granit du pays est l'élément constitutif des autres arcades, de style gothique et de l'encadrement des fenêtres. Le moellon tout venant en gneiss (pierre extraite des carrières des faubourgs de la ville) assure le remplissage. Les fenêtres du haut de la nef étaient jadis ouvertes sur l'extérieur, trois toitures recouvrant alors l'église : une pour la nef et deux pour les bas-côtés. C'est en 1636 que fut montée une charpente unique.

À titre de témoins (de siècles différents), il a été conservé des éléments de décoration à quelques endroits. Dans l'intrados d'une arcade, un Christ en gloire, encadré de motifs végétaux a été rénové. Le choeur est remanié au XVe. Il est orné d'un retable réalisé en 1667 par un maître sculpteur, longtemps lamballais. Il devrait s'élever jusqu'à la voûte. Manifestement, la partie supérieure est manquante.

Au début du XVIe est ouverte, au midi, une vaste chapelle éclairée par un grand fenestrage. La présence d'un saint Généfort intrigue. Très vénéré dans la paroisse, sans doute « importé » par les moines, il possédait un autel particulier au pied d'un pilier et la vertu de guérir les jeunes enfants éprouvant des difficultés à marcher. Les mamans faisaient rouler leur enfant sur l'autel.

L'autel a été créé en 1825 et est surmonté d'une toile de l'Épiphanie, peint par un maître vannetais au milieu du XVIIIe. On découvre également la base de l'ancien clocher sur lequel est peinte une fresque très ancienne. On peut avancer qu'il s'agit de sainte Radegonde, femme de Clotaire Ier, fondatrice et abbesse de l'abbaye de Sainte-Croix de Poitiers. Une petite fresque s'aperçoit sur le gros pilier de droite au-dessus d'une Vierge à l'enfant du XVIIe. Elle représente un buste de moine tenant un calice et peut-être une hostie. Le pendant existait sur l'autre pilier. D'autres fresques ornaient les ébrasements des fenêtres. Au décapage, des traces sont apparues sur l'un d'entre eux.

Ne quittons pas l'église sans jeter un regard à un bas-relief en marbre représentant saint Martin accomplissant son geste généreux.

OuestFrance
Référence de la notice (from Merimee DB): PA00089224

Dénomination de l'édifice (from Merimee DB): Église

Localisation (from Merimee DB): Bretagne ; Côtes-d'Armor (22) ; Lamballe

Siècle de la campagne principale de construction (from Merimee DB): 11e siècle, 16e siècle

Précision sur la protection de l'édifice (from Merimee DB):
Eglise : classement par arrêté du 16 septembre 1907


Date de versement de la notice (Merimee DB): 9/16/1907

Relevant Website: [Web Link]

Photo with MH logo pictured included?: no

Adresse de l'édifice (from Merimee DB): Not listed

Visit Instructions:
[EN] Include at minimum a complete sentence which reflects your experience visiting the site and upload a photo taken by you at the site.

[FR] Ecrivez au moins une phrase complète qui décrira votre expérience lors de la visite et téléchargez une photo du site prise par vous.

Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Monuments Historiques Français
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
There are no logs for this waymark yet.