By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies as provided in our policy.

Deep Creek Grist Mill Stones - Clinton, BC
Posted by: Groundspeak Regular Member BK-Hunters
N 51° 05.500 W 121° 35.223
10U E 598947 N 5660968
Quick Description: Operated by the South Cariboo Historical Museum Society, the Clinton Museum is housed in a little brick one room schoolhouse.
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Date Posted: 7/15/2019 5:42:56 PM
Waymark Code: WM10ZA7
Published By: Groundspeak Premium Member bluesnote
Views: 0

Long Description:
Still the only all brick building in Clinton, the museum itself is older than many of the artefacts to be found within, having been built of locally fired bricks in 1892. It served as a school until 1925 and again from 1945 to 1951. The museum opened in the building in 1956.

In front of the schoolhouse, flanking the sidewalk leading in, are a pair of 1868 millstones, imported from France and used in a grist mill at Soda Creek, then the largest mill on the B.C. mainland. Following is text from a brass plaque mounted on the larger of the two stones.

Mill Stones (1868)

From the Deep Creek Grist Mill near Soda Creek, these stones, weighing 1,600 and 1,000 LBS were imported from France for R.A Collins' "Protection Mill", which was the LARGEST mill on the mainland. Donated to the South Cariboo Museum by G.W. Wood.
The Clinton Museum
At the beginning of the Cariboo gold rush there were two paths to get into the Interior of the Province. Travelers could either brave the route along the Fraser River on the Cariboo Wagon Road or travel up the Harrison-Lillooet Trail. Either way, the road chosen went through “the Junction” at 47 Mile.

47 Mile House, later renamed the Clinton Hotel, was a favorite resting place for those heading for the gold in Barkerville. But the travelers required more than just a place to rest. A general store and a blacksmith were needed early on and by 1892, Clinton boasted shops, a bank, a telegraph office, a courthouse and the burgeoning town required a larger schoolhouse. Ed Norton was making bricks out of clay from the Clinton area and was given the contract to build the one-room school. He may not have been charging enough as his brick-building business closed in 1898, making the little brick schoolhouse a unique rarity for Clinton. The one and only brick house, then and now.

At one time, the school sported a bell tower complete with a brass bell donated by Sir Richard McBride, a well-known provincial politician. The bell was later melted down for the “war effort” and the bell tower removed.

The brick building was used as a school and later, when the original courthouse burned down, a substitute courthouse. When a trial was in session, the children were sent outside to play. When yet another larger school was built, the little brick building was used solely as a courthouse.

The little brick schoolhouse entered its next phase of usefulness by becoming a museum when, in May of 1956, the South Cariboo Museum and Historical Society opened its doors. In 1999 the museum also acquired and moved the then 88-year-old Provincial Government Stable, filling it with their ample collection of historical artifacts. The only building ever made out of Clinton bricks is not only historical itself, but today is filled with the history of the entire area.
From Explore Gold Country

Photo goes Here

Type of mill: Water Mill

What did this millstone make?: Flour and feed

Status of Stone: Public Display

Website containing relating information: Not listed

Visit Instructions:
Please describe your visit to the waymark and/or include a picture of the waymark.
Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Trails.com Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Millstones
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Nearest Hotels
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
There are no logs for this waymark yet.