Show/HideCategories [hide category]
National Historic Landmarks
National Historic Landmarks are a specially designated collection of important buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects found throughout the United States. The landmarks which make it onto this special list are recognized as possessing "national significance". Items on this list represent a special subset of the items listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Expanded Description:
There are more than 80,000 locations listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places (NRHP). Usually, the properties listed on the NRHP represent locations that are primarily significant on a state or local level. But a small subset (approximately 2,500) of these properties have been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as possessing national significance. Designated as National Historic Landmarks, these exceptional locations, by nature of their architectural style, theme, or information potential, help visitors to better understand and appreciate the history, culture, and spirit of America.
Instructions for Posting a National Historic Landmarks Waymark:
Waymarks created for this category must:
Instructions for Visiting a Waymark in this Category:
To log a visit to a waymark in this category, you must:
Category Settings:
  • Waymarks can be added to this category
  • New waymarks of this category are reviewed by the category group prior to being published
  • Category is not visible in the directory
No Variables